Section 4: Technical Skills

T4.1 

My script: HAPPY BIRTHDAY- Joel Kandekore

What are the resources required for your film production (think about equipment, props, actors, location etc) 

The resources required for my film production is the kitchen as it is where the majority of the film takes place. I would need two actors a male and female to play Mark and Sarah. The equipment needed on set is the camera, the sound mixer, the boom microphone and the different lights to create the tone and feeling of the film. The props required are:

THE WORST KIND OF PEOPLE – Gokul Ajith

Copy of SPAGHETTI by MACY TRIEU-DINGLE 

4.2 

What is your key role and what are the skills and equipment required to fulfil it?

My key role as a director is to be in controls the film’s artistic and dramatic aspects visualising the script. Guiding the technical crew and actors to fulfil that vision. The director has a key role in choosing the cast members, production design, and the creative aspects of filmmaking. Also to block and create the film’s aesthetic.

 

What is your supporting role and what are the skills and equipment required to fulfil it?

My supporting role of a boom operator is to record the sound within the scene using the Boom Microphone. The key skills needed when boom operating is to make sure that I don’t stand anywhere where my shadow or the boom cast a shadow on the set. I must have good knowledge of the microphone characteristics, good timing and the ability to anticipate so I can keep the boom near the actors to record everything they say clearly. I must also have a good memory for the dialogue in order to keep up with the actor’s lines.

Post production role – director (first cut): Spaghetti – Cut 1

4.3 

How do you feel you performed your roles on set? What were your strengths and what were any challenges you faced? 

 

Andy commented that the montage elements of the scripts were a huge challenge and the team shouldn’t underestimate the scale of their ambition in that respect. He also noted that I was a very effective director, particularly when it came to getting the actors to improvise – Andy was very apprehensive about this, but it worked very well and was kept short and sweet. .Neil thought the shoot went really well, it was much more complicated & challenging than Worst Kind – the time pressure played into this at times, but everyone handled that very well. I did well at handling the necessity to cut out shots & was able to manage my priorities successfully and avoid running behind time.

 

How do you think your skills and knowledge developed in this role? Give examples 

My skills and knowledge of directing developed as I have learned how to work effectively as part of a team. I did well at handling the necessity to cut out shots & was able to manage his priorities successfully and avoid running behind time.The DOP, camera operator and I worked well together and clearly had a great dialogue, but the communication could have done with a bit of work –more concrete and less abstract as we were talking too much.  This shoot was really challenging in terms of speed, so everyone pushed themselves to much sure I got all the scenes finished in time Neil was very happy to see that blocking was considered throughout and gone through

4.5 

Following completion of the Film Academy, please give examples of film production skills that you would like to develop. Did you have any particular strengths or weaknesses on the course? 

My skills and knowledge of directing developed as I have learned how to work effectively as part of a team. I did well at handling the necessity to cut out shots & was able to manage his priorities successfully and avoid running behind time.

Carine said when I was boom operating she was really happy with me and said I communicated extremely well with both sound mixer and the camera team.

The DOP, camera operator and I worked well together and clearly had a great dialogue, but the communication could have done with a bit of work –more concrete and less abstract as we were talking too much. I would ike tto develop my directing skills so that we can optimise the time on set.

2 thoughts on “Section 4: Technical Skills

  1. Good start here, Joel. You’ve successfully completed 4.2. Make sure you add a little more detail to finish 4.1

    For 4.3, 4.4 & 4.5 – please rewrite these with details from your own perspective and experience of the shoot. The detail at present is all from the debrief notes, which you’ll be uploading separately as part of the portfolio.

    Like

  2. lfashortcourses March 2, 2018 — 3:04 am

    Thank you for working a little on those, Joel. They’re still a bit lacking in detail, but it’s enough to complete section 4.

    Like

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close